22 weeks Post-Op

It’s been a while since I’ve had a therapeutic post-shoulder surgery blog session so what the heck, right?  During the last 8 weeks there have been a lot of ups and downs.  The shoulder was feeling stronger and in less pain so we tried to increase therapy including throwing the baseball lightly.  That proved to be a bad idea as my biceps tendon swelling and pain came back making me unable to continue any kind of strengthening.  The pain has still been pretty constant with small breaks of relief.

Last week however, after fighting this tendon swelling and pain for well over a year I was able to go in a get a cortisone injection in the shoulder.  Initially I felt relief, but quickly the pain came back and it actually felt worse than ever. I was discouraged and fearful the rest of the day.  But when I woke up the next morning I felt like I had a brand new shoulder!  Since then (a little over a week) my shoulder has felt almost entirely free of pain and psychologically it has been a huge relief.  After a year and a half of almost constant pain, it’s overwhelming to feel the lack of it.

This is good news as I was starting (as well as my PT) to be concerned that a “second surgery” may be necessary to cut the tendon and reattach it lower on my shoulder.  It’s not out of the question, but the fact that the shot decreased the inflammation and pain is a great sign that the pain was stemming from that and not a mechanical or structural issue.  Praise God for that!  My shoulder still hikes when I raise it, but the surgeon informed me last week that may simply be the cost of surgery.  He said that my shoulder will never be the same.  In fact, he has had the same surgery and raised his arm and it did the same thing.  Bummer.  But I’m now able to ease back into strengthening and I’m just praying that the inflammation and pain will not return and in the next three months I can get back to normal.  That would be amazing.

Leave a Reply

