Summer Reading List 2015

It’s that time of year again, time to select some fun books for the warm months of summer. I try to pick books simply for enjoyment and save the rest of the year to read some more challenging or demanding books. I’m excited about this summer and have chosen to reread To Kill a Mockingbird in anticipation of the upcoming release of Go Set a Watchman. I’m also really obsessed with Cormac McCarthy after reading All the Pretty Horses a few weeks ago. Exciting and suspenseful story, beautifully foreign terrain (for me), and a lot of bad-assery. 🙂 I’d love to read everything he’s written so this summer is a good chance to finish the trilogy. I also wanted to throw in a Sci-Fi classic that is both a Nebula and Hugo award winner. I read a Hugo award winner last week (Way Station by Clifford Simak) and if that book is any indication, the bar is set pretty low for sci-fi writing. So I’m not sure what to expect from Ursula Le Guin, though I know she’s been nominated for several books. I was really impacted in 2005 when I read Dante’s Divine Comedy so I always love a chance to read how it impacted someone else so I’m excited for Rod Dreher’s book. Finally, Lonesome Dove has been a piece of Western fiction that I’ve never heard anyone speak a bad word about. It’s universally acclaimed and I’m finally going to jump in. No real theme or rhyme or reason with this summer reading list other than books I desire to read and am sure I will find entertaining and enjoyable. That’s what summer is about, right?

To Kill a Mockingbird – Harper Lee
Go Set a Watchman – Harper Lee
The Crossing – Cormac McCarthy
Cities of the Plain – Cormac McCarthy
The Left Hand of Darkness – Ursula Le Guin
The Things They Carried – Tim O’Brien
The Final Beast – Frederick Buechner
Lonesome Dove – Larry McMurtry
The Sign of Jonas – Thomas Merton
A Change of Heart; Personal and Theological Memoir – Thomas Oden
How Dante Can Save Your Life: The Life-Changing Wisdom of History’s Greatest Poem – Rod Dreher
A More Christlike God: A More Beautiful Gospel – Bradley Jersak

Leave a Reply

